MCFL Final V Tracton – 9/10


Shamrocks 2-9, Tracton 0-11


What a weekend of football its been in the club. The juniors qualify for their first ever adult county final in 85 years on Saturday and not to be outdone, the minor footballers add the league title a day later after this hard fough win over Tracton in Shanbally on the Sunday. Tracton had beaten Shamrocks in the championship earlier in the year so the team knew that only a top class display would suffice here and thats what they did just about in the end.


The first half was close all the way with play swinging up and down the field throughout. Shamrocks opened up with the first two scores but Tracton fought hard and kept in touch up until HT, where the score stood at Shamrocks 0-6, Tracton 0-4. Shamrocks had to play without captain Mark Hitchmough who received a black card after 20 minutes but despite this blow, they knuckled down thereafter. Among the Shamrocks scorers in the first half were David Andrews, Andrew O’Grady who was on form on the frees and Cillian Hayes.


Shamrocks started the second half like they meant business and struck for 2-2 in a devastating 6 minute period. First a quickly taken free on the 50 yard line was worked through 4 pairs of hands to Shane Flavin at the edge of the square and his finished smartly to the Tracton net. O’Grady and David O’Sullivan had scored points either side of that goal and next to follow was a David Andrews goal after his strong run. With 20 minutes to go, Shamrocks were in a strong position, leading 2-8 to 0-4. However, Tracton were determined that this wasnt going to be their lot and they stormed right back into the game and totally controlled the last 20 minutes. Only for some superb shot stopping by Criostóir Corkery in the Shamrocks goal and some heroic blockdowns, it could have been a remarkable comeback. After Tracton brought the score back to 2-8 to 0-10, Shamrocks finally managed to get a much needed score through Cillian Hayes 3 minutes from the end to seal the win. A great team performance overall once again from everyone.


Liam Shanahan, Chairman of Rebel Óg East, presented the league trophy to Shamrocks captain Mark Hitchmough after the game.


Team: C. Corkery, D. Barry, J. O’Keeffe, S. Downey, M. Hitchmough, R. Meighan, A. O’Grady, D. Andrews, C. Hayes, S. Flavin, D. O’Flaherty, D. Allen. Subs used – C. Scriven, D. O’Sullivan, J. Lynam, D. O’Mahony




MCFL Winning Panel V Tracton, 9/10/16. Back row, l to r: C. Scriven, D. O'Mahony, J. Lynam, C. Corkery, D. Barry, R. Meighan, A. O'Grady, D. O'Sullivan, S. Flavin. Front, l to r: C. Hayes, S. Downey, D. O'Flaherty, M. Hitchmough, D. Andrews, J. O'Keeffe, D. Allen.

MCFL Winning Panel V Tracton, 9/10/16. Back row, l to r: C. Scriven, D. O’Mahony, J. Lynam, C. Corkery, D. Barry, R. Meighan, A. O’Grady, D. O’Sullivan, S. Flavin. Front, l to r: C. Hayes, S. Downey, D. O’Flaherty, M. Hitchmough, D. Andrews, J. O’Keeffe, D. Allen.



You may also like...