John Kerins Memorial Tournament – 18/6


Shamrocks travelled to Pairc Ui Rinn on Saturday for the annual John Kerins Memorial U11 football competition. We had high hopes for this group of lads who are showing great potential over the last few seasons. A lot of work over the long winter evenings in the National Maritime College and on the pitch is now starting to show rewards. We quailfied for the semi finals of this after beating Crosshaven, Passage & Douglas in the qualifiers which was hosted in Shanbally at the end of May.


We were pitted against Whitechurch in the semi final. We soon found ourselves in a tough contest and were 5 points down approaching half time. Some good team work resulted in us kicking over four points without reply. Eoin O’ Flynn then scored a great goal to leave us up by two points at the break.


Words of encouragement were spoken at half time and this resulted in the team playing some great football to take control of the game. Each player upped their game to leave us winners at the end on a scoreline of 3-06 to 3-01.


Up next was Mayfield in the final. The two were lead around Pairc Ui Rinn behind the Ballpheane Pipe Band. We were dealt a blow before the start of the game when our midfield player, Ferdia Hayes had to go to Southdoc but after treatment was able to return to the field of play and resumed his midfield position for the second half.


We started great in the final and dominated possession in the early stages of the game. Sharp shooter Eoin O’Flynn scored two goals in the first half to leave Shamrocks leading by seven points approaching the short whistle. We left Mayfield back into the game and they scored 1-02 without reply to leave us leading by only 2 points at half time.


More words of wisdom and encouragement were spoken to the lads and when the game resumed we again started in great form again. Some lovely points were scored and when Eoin O’Flynn got his third goal it left us in a commanding lead which we never gave up, final score Shamrocks 4-6, Mayfield 1-5


Great scenes of delight were witnessed at the final whistle. The very large and vocal Shamrock support were in great form. The trophy was presented to our captain Eoin O’Flynn and all the players on the panel received their winners medals. The day still wasn’t over as the routine victory parade took place through Shanbally & Ringaskiddy and on to the Ferryboat Inn for the party. The club would like to thank Sarah & her staff for their hospitality they showed us at such short notice.


The club would also like to thank the excellent Shamrocks supporters who turned out in the green & white in great numbers. Special praise must go to the team selection committee. Minor players Andrew O’Grady and Mark Hitchmough took charge of this team earlier on in the year. They took the training in the pitch and the indoor training in the NMCI. The words that they spoke to the lads throughout the tournament were of great benifit. In fact both Andrew & Mark were players on the team that last won the John Kerins Memorial in 2007. Minor players James Lynam and Cristeoir Corkery also helped out with this team throughout the year. Shane O Donovan, John Jordan & John Twomey made up the backroom team.


Panel of players, Sam Foy, Barry O Mahony, Aaron Clarke, Robert Barrett, Dara McCormack, Aidan Brady, Michael Foy, Eoin O Flynn, Ferdia Hayes, Cathal O Donovan, Cian Lynch, Kieran May, Evan Browne, Evan Twomey, David Herlihy, Harry O Leary, Shane O Mahony, Nigel O Sullivan Kearney, Ewan Clarke, Calum Gregson



John Kerins Panel, 18/6/16 - Back row, l to r: Evan Browne, Calum Gregson, Robert Barrett, Ferdia Hayes, Michael Foy, Eoin O'Flynn, Cathal O'Donovan, Ewan Clarke, Aiden Brady, David Herlihy. Front, l to r: Harry O'Leary, Aaron Clarke, Cian Lynch, Barry O'Mahony, Nigel O'Sullivan Kearney, Dara McCormick, Sam Foy, Shane O'Mahony, Evan Twomey, Kieran Maye

John Kerins Panel, 18/6/16 – Back row, l to r: Evan Browne, Calum Gregson, Robert Barrett, Ferdia Hayes, Michael Foy, Eoin O’Flynn, Cathal O’Donovan, Ewan Clarke, Aiden Brady, David Herlihy. Front, l to r: Harry O’Leary, Aaron Clarke, Cian Lynch, Barry O’Mahony, Nigel O’Sullivan Kearney, Dara McCormick, Sam Foy, Shane O’Mahony, Evan Twomey, Kieran Maye


You may also like...