MCFC V Crosshaven – 19/8


Crosshaven 3-10, Shamrocks 2-10


Crosshaven got the better of Shamrocks in the championship on Wednesday evening in Camden.


Crosshaven were much the better team throughout. This was a vastly different team and performance from earlier in the year when Shamrocks comfortably won the league game. They totally dominated the middle third of the pitch and all the ariel challenges – they won every kickout bar one. This gave them the platform to dominate possession – roughly 70% to 30% throughout the match.


Crosshaven scored an early goal and Shamrocks spent the rest of the first half trying to peg this back. The teams were responding to each others scores  – the Shamrocks scores coming from Darragh Scriven, Cillian Hayes, Andrew O’Grady from a  free and Shane Downey. And just before HT, Cillian Hayes was on hand to finish a rebound to the Crosshaven net to leave Shamrocks leading by 1-7 to 1-5 at HT, the only time they led in the whole game.


Crosshaven completely dominated the first 12 minutes of the second period, the ball didn’t leave the Shamrocks half at all. They scored 3 points and added on a goal from a penalty to leave themselves in the driving seat. Shamrocks had to start all over again to peg back the 3 point deficit with 15 minutes to go. But they weren’t winning enough ball at all and attackes were sporadic. Andrew O’Grady from a free and Shane Downey kept Shamrocks in touch but Crosshaven scored a vital goal with 5 minutes of ordinary time left and they went 7 points up.


Chris Hayes scored a wonderful goal from 30 yards out from the resultant kick out and the margin was down to 4 points. However, Crosshaven held onto the ball for the remainder of the game and ran out deserving winners. Shamrocks looked a tired team by the end, its been a long season. 5 of  these players will end up playing 3 championship matches this week alone. 


Thanks to the players and management for a huge effort all year. The footballers can still qualify for the knockout stages of the league.


Team: C. Corkery, S. Kidney, C. O’Grady, T. Murphy, C. Scriven, D. Barry, D. Scriven, S. Downey, M. Hitchmough, C. Hayes, A. O’Grady, C. Murphy. Subs – C. Hayes, B. Crowley, S. Flavin. J. Lynam, D. O’Sullivan, D. O’Mahony.


You may also like...