U16 CHL Co Final V Dromtarriffe – 23/11


Dromtarriffe 1-17, Shamrocks 2-10


Shamrocks lost out for the third time in a County Final this year at u16 level after Dromtarriffe deservedly won by 4 points at the excellent Mallow venue on Sunday afternoon. Shamrocks can have no complaints here as Dromtarriffe were far more potent up front and had a nice spread of scorers. Shamrocks, in particular in the second half when they were chasing the game, were almost totally reliant on Andrew O’Grady who was excellent from placed balls.


Dromtarriffe opened up a 0-4 to 0-1 lead after 15 minutes and looked much the better team. Shamrocks responded with a goal that was a mistake from the Dromtarriffe keeper who let a high ball from Andrew O’Grady slip through his legs. This seemed to rouse Shamrocks and they went in front with a few points from O’Grady and David Andrews (well held by the Dromtarriffe defence all through). The teams swopped points up until HT and it was a draw at this point, 1-5 for Shamrockss, 0-8 for Dromtarriffe.


Dromtarriffe got a  dream start to the second half when their left wing forward scored 3 points in as many minutes from play straight after the second half began. Shamrocks responded and actually went ahead with 17 minutes to go but just couldn’t push on at this point, just like in the other finals. At 1-9 to 0-11 ahead, this was the turning point, and even though we had a good 10 minutes of no scores from either side, Dromtarriffe were creating all the scoring opportunities and went ahead with 2 quick points with 10 minutes to go. Then Dromtarriffe were awarded a penalty which they converted and suddenly with time almost up, they led by 6. Shamrocks got a goal back through David Andrews but Dromtarriffe totally controlled the 6 minutes of injury time that the referee played. Game and season over.


Well done to Dromtarriffe – a very good hurling team. Commiserations to a gallant Shamrocks team who fought hard to the bitter end but it wasn’t to be on this occasion. They’ve had a fantastic year by any standards and have resurrected hurling in the club. Well done and thanks to all the players and mentors for a great and wonderful year. Thanks also to all the parents for their support and to the supporters who made the long journey today. See you all next year hopefully.


Team:: C. Scriven, N. Hayes, D. Barry, R. Mehigan, M. Hitchmough, C. Hayes, A. O’Grady, J. Lynam, D. Andrews, S. Flavin, M. Field, C. Hayes. Subs used – D. O’Mahony, A. O’Keeffe.



David Andrews V Dromtarriffe

David Andrews V Dromtarriffe


You may also like...