U14 FC Semi Final V Cill na Martra – 4/7


Cill na Martra 8-10, Shamrocks 3-8


Shamrocks under 14 footballers bowed out of the championship at the semi final stage on Friday July 4th in Ballinaspittle. On the night the lads came up against a very strong Cill Na Martra outfit who had talented footballers all over the field.


Shamrocks started brightly and were 4 points up after 10 minutes through captain Shane Downey 2, Cillian Hayes and Dylan O Flaherty, however Cill Na Martra responded with a goal and a point to level midway through the first half.


At this stage the opposition were always looking dangerous especially through their midfielder who was about 6ft 2. Shamrocks found him very hard to handle throughout and to be fair to the opposition they used him very well moving him to centre forward and full forward  and back to midfield every so often. Two further points from Dylan O’Flaherty and a rocket of a goal from Shane Downey lifted Shamrocks only to be knocked back again by a goal and 3 points by Cill Na Matra leaving Shamrocks trailing by a single point at half time 2-4 to 1-6.


Shamrocks again started brightly and were in front soon after the restart with another rocket from Shane from a penalty after a foul on Dylan O’Flaherty.  Soon after Shamrocks thought they had another goal from Cillian Hayes but the goal was not given, apparently it had not crossed the line. Shamrocks protested this saying that it should have stood as it was two feet over the line.


This was the turning point in the game as the refs decision knocked Shamrocks back and the opposition responded with two quick goals and a brace of points. At this stage Cill Martra were on top and scored a few more goals. Shamrocks replied with a goal from Billy Hughes and a point from Dylan O’Flaherty but injuries to four players took  its toll and were beaten well in the end on a scoreline of 8-10 to 3-8.
A brave attempt by the lads who are improving all the time.


Team on duty : Robert Van Pelt, Cillian O Mahony, Cathal Murphy, Evan Seymour, Jody Sisk, Daniel O Mahony, Cillian Hayes, Shane Downey, Dylan O Flaherty, Sean Browne, Billy Hughes, Sean Andrews, Luke O Driscoll, Sam Geary, Adam Hallissey and Harry Andrews.




You may also like...