St Nicks U21 Football Tournament Plate Final – 8/1

Shamrocks 1-6, St Nicks 0-3


There was finality to the St. Nicks Under 21 football tournament this Sunday with Shamrocks taking on the host Club in the Plate final.
This was a well contested game with both sides keen to collect the laurels.  Shamrocks played with great cohesion and committment and dogged defending saw very few scoring opportunities for St.Nicks.
In a low scoring game, played in difficult conditions Philip Brady got the most vital score of the game, a cracking goal just before the break, after some enterprising outfield play by Cusack and McCarthy.  Shamrocks led 1-3 to 0-1 at half-time.
The second half was fiercely competitive with St. Nicks putting in a huge effort to salvage the game.  Shamrocks possessed players who would not falter and centre back Cathal Kidney was truly outstanding and perhaps the best player on the pitch. Team captain Canice Cafferey played himself to a standstill and fullback Stephen Hurley was so dependable all through.  At the final whistle Shamrocks were ahead 1-6 to 0-3 and worthy winners.
Sean O’Brien, Conor Walter, James Raleigh,  Roy Twomey and goalkeeper Jack Wilson, who kept a clean sheet, were all to the fore on many occasions. The final point of the game was scored by super-sub Stephen Downey.
Team;   Jack Wilson (goal), Jonathan Tuohy, Stephen Hurley, Conor Walter, James Raleigh, Cathal Kidney, Sean O’Brien, Alan McCarthy, Cannice Cafferey, Joey Brady, Brian Cusack, Tony O’Mahony, Roy Twomey, Philip Brady, Shane Horgan.  Subs – Aaron Hickey and Stephen Downey.
The Chairman of St. Nicks, Denis Coughlan (Cork and Glen Rovers Legend), after making the presentation congratulated Shamrocks on their fine victory and their committed participation in the tournament.  He wished them and the Club well for the coming season.
Sincere thanks is extended to New Club Chairman Pat McCarthy and Dave O’Neill, who were the team Mentors.

Back Row, l to r – Pat McCarthy (manager), Conor Walter, Alan McCarthy, Joey Brady, Jack Wilson, Cathal Kidney, Roy Twomey, Philip Brady, Brian Cusack, Stephen Downey, Dave O’Neill (selector)​.
Front Row, l to r: Jonathan Tuohy, James Raleigh, Cannice Caffrey, Stephen Hurley, Tony O’Mahony, Shane Horgan, Seán O’Brien, Aaron Hickey


You may also like...