U16 C Hurling League Playoff V Grenagh – 19/8


Shamrocks 6-18, Drispey 1-8


Shamrocks took care of Dripsey in the semi final of the league on Monday evening in Shanbally, on a perfect evening for hurling.


Dripsey had beaten Shamrocks by 2 points in the championship back at the end of July so Shamrocks had some motivation to reverse that result in this game. They went about their business with authority and a no nonsense approach to Dripsey. They attacked every ball, picked out better placed players when needed and targetted the inside Dripsey line early on.


David Andrews was the main beneficiary of this approach. He had 4-1 from play racked up by the 20 minutes after some good approach work from the players out the field who ran at the Dripsey defence and drew the man all the way into the inside line, where Andrews did the rest. It was impressive stuff and knocked the stuffing out of the visitors. After 20 minutes Shamrocks led 4-1 to 0-1. The sides traded 3 points each from there up until halftime, Mark Hitchmough and Darragh Scriven with the pick of the Shamrocks scores – Hitchmough must have been 90 yeards out on the wing while Scriven caught a huge ball in midfield from a puckout from his brother Cormac, turned, soled down the middle of the pitch and struck over a beauty from the 45.


Dripsey needed a blistering start to the second half to have any hope but it was Shamrocks who carried out from where they left off with some early points and 2 quick goals, Andrews with his 5th goal from play and Christopher Hayes also getting in on the goal scoring act. Tom Murphy, Nathan Hayes and Andrew O’Grady from frees also slotted over points as the game was well and truly over 20 minutes form the end. This was a great team performance all round – the lads have most definately improved their hurling from the start of the year and the attitude from them is first class.


Shamrocks now play Lisgoold this weekend (either Friday night or Saturday) and the game will be on in Lisgoold.


Team: C. Scriven, S. Kidney, N. Hayes, S. Kelleher, C. O’Grady, M. Hitchmough, D. Scriven, B. Crowley, T. Murphy, A. O’Grady, C. Hayes, D. Andrews. E. Desmond.



Comments are closed.