U15 CFL Final V Grenagh – 3/10

Grenagh 2-10, Shamrocks 1-8


Grenagh won the C grade league in Shanbally on Wednesday evening last after a 5 point win over Shamrocks. It hasnt been a good few days for the Shamrocks lads as they lost out in the championship by the same margin the previous Saturday.


Shamrocks started the brighter, playing against the breeze and hill and were 2 points up thanks to Darragh Scriven and David Andrews. However, Grenagh went down the field and scored 3 quick points to forge ahead.


Shamrocks got on top somewhat after that and scored a few points from Scriven and Tom Murphy before Brendan Crowleys speculative effort looped over the Grenagh goalkeeper to give Shamrocks a vital goal before halftime. Shamrocks led 1-4 to 0-5 at the break and hopes were high of victory, especially turning to play down the hill with the (ever fading) breeze.


However, Grenagh stuck the ball in the back of the Shamrocks net from the throw in to give themselves a boost. This had the effect of reenergising them while at the same time knocking the Shamrocks lads back. The next 15 minutes were spent largely in the Shamrocks half; Shamrocks couldnt win a kickout and Grenagh piled on the scores, a further 3 quick points to open up a 7 point lead before Shamrocks knew what hit them.


They finally started to work the ball up the field but when the ball did go inside, Shamrocks didnt have the ability, guile or cuteness to score that all important goal. They brought the score back to 5 points through 2 Darragh Scriven frees and Marck Hitchmoughs late point but it was Grenaghs night.


Martin McMullan of the East Board presented the League Trophy to the winning Grenagh captain in the fading Páirc Thaidhg Ui hAinle light. The teams will meet again, this time in Grenagh in the Hurling LEague final, on a date yet to confirmed.


Team: K. Murphy, S. Kidney, S. Kelleher, N. Hayes, C. O’Grady, D. Barry, D. Scriven, C. Scriven, D. Andrews, T. Murphy, B. Crowley, A. O’Grady. Subs – M. Hitchmough, C. Hayes, J. O’Keeffe.



Shamrocks u15 team V Grenagh, FL Final, 3/10/12
Back row, l to r: Killian Murphy, Nathan Hayes, Darragh Scriven, Andrew O’Grady, David Barry, Brendan Crowley, Shane Kelleher, Mark Hitchmough.
Front, l to r: Cormac Scriven, Christopher Hayes, Tom Murphy, Sean Kidney, David Andrews, Coby O’Grady, Joseph O’Keeffe



You may also like...