JAHC V Belgooly – 5/8

Belgooly 2-23, Shamrocks 0-14

The Junior A hurlers were beaten in R1 of the championship on Saturday evening in Carrigaline by Belgooly

The scoreboard says a 15 point difference in the end but the play on the field was a lot closer than that.

With 10 minutes to go, it was 0-17 to 0-14 after Shamrocks had battled so hard against the very strong breeze to stay within touching distance of Belgooly in the second half. A few things in front of goal didn’t go right for them when they desperately needed a goal.

The overworked backs were magnificent up to then but then the dam burst, the legs went and Belgooly had their tails up, scoring 2-6 without reply to run out convincing winners in the end.

Shamrocks were so brave in defeat, the scoreline was extremely harsh on them but a lack of scoring forwards, absences, injuries and what not caught up with them and the tight panel on that last stretch.

Team: A. McCarthy, D. Barry, C. Kidney, C. O’Grady, M. Hitchmough, S. Collins, N. Hayes, F. Herlihy, A. Brady, A. O’Grady, D. O’Flaherty, C. Hayes, D. Scriven, J Browne. Subs used – J. Tuohy, R. Barrett

JAHC V Belgooly, 5/8/23. Back row, l to r: Seán Andrews, Coby O’Grady, Shane Downey, Cathal Kidney, Dave Barry, Fionn Herlihy, Darragh Scriven, Mark Hitchmough, Seanán Collins, Andrew O’Grady, Alan McCarthy, Rob Barrett, Ruairí Meighan. Front, l to r: Aiden Brady, Gary Ronayne, Jonathan Tuohy, Dylan O’Flaherty, Cillian Hayes, Jason Browne, Nathan Hayes, Mark Sisk, Jack Wilson


You may also like...