U12 FL V Lisgoold – 7/3


Shamrocks 3-8, Lisgoold 0-0


Shamrocks u12’s started their season in style on Saturday afternoon with a comfortable win over our visitors to Shanbally on Saturday afternoon. Both teams had more than the required 12 a side so they played 15 a side.


Shamrocks, through good strong play from Harry Andrews and Derry Howard  at midfield and Cian O’Flaherty at centre forward, got on top playing up the hill against the wind and drove on to lead by 2-6 to 0-0 at HT. Eoin O’Flynn and Harry Andrews got the goals.


Shamrocks brought on all the subs in the second half and pushed on, despite a brilliant Lisgoold effort. Some great defending from Shamrocks kept them out at times.


A special word for Lisgoold GAA. Their dressing rooms are currently being redeveloped which renders their pitch unplayable for the last and next few weeks. By a strange quirk in the fixtures program, they were down to play Shamrocks in Minor, U14 and U12 in football at home last week and this week. But Lisgoold sportingly elected to travel up for 3 games in a row at the start of the season, going back to last Saturday afternoon – Their U14s, minor and u12 teams travelled to Shanbally without a word of complaint. Well done Lisgoold.


Harry Andrews, Cian O’Flaherty, Aaron Clarke, Eoin O’Flynn and Shane Darcy were among the goalscorers. Overall, a brilliant performance from all the 19 players in action and the management team of Stephen Keane, Pa Andrews assisted by Seamus O’Flynn and Jed O’Flaherty on the day were very happy with the players afterwards. Also, thanks to Catherine Sisk for communicating with the parents and ensuring that there were 19 players togged and ready to go. Football training continues this week on Wednesday at 4pm, as the pitch is currently not suitable for hurling due to the weather and the high volume of games its taking. The next game is a hurling challenge at home to Douglas 2 on Saturday MArch 21st at 4.30pm.


Panel: D. O’Brien, M. Foy, M.Sisk, A. Brady. D. Carroll, F. Herlihy, A. McSweeney, H. Andrews, D. Howard, J. Hickey, C. O’Flaherty, E. O’Flynn, F. Hayes, S. Darcy. A. Maye, A. Clarke, R. Barrett, J. Bartlett, D. McCormick.  


You may also like...